In accordance with the Local Government Election Act Section 5(1), a general election shall be held at intervals of every four (4) years, and will take place on the 4th Wednesday of October.

In rural municipalities there will be an election every two (2) years. In 2016, the election was held for Divisions 1,3,5 and the Reeve. The next election will be held in 2018 for Divisions 2, 4 & 6 and will continue in this way.